Our Misson

Meetings and Events

Becoming a Member


The Education Office

A Brief History

The Board

Career Services

Resources and Links


Contact Us


On June 25,2018 the NSF and the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy announced the 2018 awardees of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) and the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring (PAESMEM). See the NSF announcement.

Lopez and Stassun at PAESMEM 2018

Among those awarded the PAESMEM this year are Jorge Lopez (UTEP), a founding member of NSHP and a former President of NSHP. Jorge, for many years the Communications Officer of NSHP, still helps publish the Hispanic Physicist.

In addition, Keivan Stassun (Vanderbilt), member of NSHP, was also awarded the PAESMEM.

NSHP congratulates these two exceptional mentors on their recognition. And we thank them for their work.