National Society
of Hispanic Physicists

Home

Our Misson

Meetings and Events

Becoming a Member

Publications

The Education Office

A Brief History

The Board

Career Services

Resources and Links

Diversity Statement

Acknowledgements

Contact Us

The Board

The Board of the National Society of Hispanic Physicists is elected by the membership every two years. Those serving in the Presidential line serve for 6 years first as President Elect, then President, and finally Past President.

Board of the NSHP

2014-2015 Board

The 2018/19 Board

President
Ramon E. Lopez
The University of Texas at Arlington
Web Page: https://www.uta.edu/profiles/ramon-lopez
e-mail address: relopez@uta.edu

Past President
Jesús Pando
DePaul University
Web Page:http://csh.depaul.edu/faculty-staff/faculty-a-z/Pages/physics/jesus-pando.aspx
e-mail address: jpando@depaul.edu

President-Elect
Jacob Urquidi
New Mexico State University
Web Page: http://physics.nmsu.edu/people/facstaff/JacobUrquidi.html
e-mail address: jurquidi@nmsu.edu

SURA Representative
David J. Ernst
Vanderbilt University
Web Page: http://sitemason.vanderbilt.edu/ernstdj
e-mail address: david.j.ernst@vanderbilt.edu

Secretary
Ximena Cid
California State University Dominguez Hills
Web Page:
e-mail address: xcid@csudh.edu

Treasurer
Edmundo Garcia
Chicago State University
Web Page: http://www.csu.edu/cas/chemistryphysicsengineering/faculty/garcia.htm
e-mail address: edmundo.garcia@csu.edu

Technical Officer
Mario Borunda
Oklahoma State University
Web Page: http://physics.okstate.edu/borunda/
e-mail address:mario.borunda@okstate.edu

Communication Officer
Miguel Castro-Colin
Bruker AXS GmbH
Web Page:
email address: m.castrocolin@gmail.com

Education Officer
Juan R. Burciaga
Sabbatical
Web Page:
e-mail address: jburciaga@ColoradoCollege.edu

Student Representative
Brian Zamarripa Roman
University of Central Florida
Web Page: https://sciences.ucf.edu/physics/people/zamarripa-roman-brian/
e-mail address: b.zamarripa@knights.ucf.edu

Assistant Corporate Secretary, ex officio
Elizabeth Lawson
Southeastern Universities Research Association (SURA)
Web Page: www.sura.org/about/management_lawson.html
e-mail address: elawson@sura.org





In order to better understand the varying needs of the NSHP community, other members of the community are asked to serve by the Board as an unofficial Advisory Panel. These people may advise on a particular issue or be involved on a broad range of topics. Frequently these people may be former Board members, liasions with other organizations, or can represent a particular constituency within NSHP.